An intriguing architectural marvel near Santa Claus Lane. The pool house was designed in the Moorish style by architect George Washington Smith in 1927. The exterior is white stucco with tile door friezes, domes, and minarets.
The pool house was designed in the Moorish style by architect George Washington Smith in 1927. The exterior is white stucco with tile door friezes, domes, and minarets. Large arches define the large exterior wooden doors with brass stud patterns. Both doors have the original unique 1927 hardware handles and lock mechanisms.
The roof is retractable and was installed by General Electric in 1927. The arched entrance into the pool area is covered in tile. Floor tiles are geometrically patterned hexagonal terra-cotta and glazed ceramic tile forms. Square tiles exist near the entrances. The lower walls are tiled to about six feet in geometrical patterns; the northern and southern walls feature two painted tile murals. The northern wall displays an aquarium-like motif of sea life with a tile fountain below the mural.
The southern wall contains images of maidens located over the fireplace. Above this mural are three domes with unique multi-colored glass light fixtures. 2 Dressing rooms adjoin the pool area as do restrooms and showers. Entrance to the pool equipment room is a sliding door with the original 1927 hardware handle. The equipment room contains the 1927 fixtures. 3 Deco glasswork decorates the gymnasium entrance’s ceiling. The gymnasium is a large area with a wooden floor.4